Need Moar Minerals!! (StarCraft II Beta Impressions)


Middle of the  road.No country for Zerg rushing.

There’s nothing more satisfying than watching a ton of roaches get squashed by a tank that’s fired a shell right into it’s ugly little face. This brutal scene of violence is what puts a smile on my face, at least. StarCraft II is right around the corner (July, for example), which means I can support Blizzard more than I already have.

I pre-ordered the (special edition) game at GameStop. Don’t judge me! I could care less how they treat people. They had a good deal. Pre-order the game, get into the mutliplayer beta. Quit judging me! I have a couple of friends that are getting this with me so we can do team games. Our team name is “The Wet Bandits“. We’re a small clan of gaming idiots that have no idea what we’re doing because we can’t stick to one game for too long. But StarCraft II may hold our attention long enough.

I played my first game against a CPU. The only setting I had was “Very Easy”. In a game like this, I expected this to be brutal. Basically, if you can’t win against a Very Easy, you should quit playing and try another genre. The AI rushed me one time while I was goofing around with the controls. No worries. My massive amount of SCVs were there to drill their face open like a Big Daddy in Rapture. Built a few marines, walked to their base, game over. I win. Truly, very easy is for children with no arms.

I decided my skills were really amazing. I didn’t know very easy was literally that. I took the fight online. This time, I lost. The next game? Lost. I finally had a teammate on, my best friend from Texas. Someone messed with Texas. We both lost. And again. Why? Well, I’m not any good whatsoever at StarCraft (I’m a slow, old man economic builder in RTS games). My friend is decent, but I’m really horrible. I’ve gained a lot of skills in the recent week, but I’m no where near as good as I’d like to be. Still, the ladders will be reset when we’re out of beta. Thank goodness too because I’m about 10/25 right now.

As of this point, I haven’t played Protoss. I don’t like ’em one bit. I’ve been mainly Zerg and Terran. The Zergs are really fun to play if you’re a newbie. You can rush an army of bugs out quickly, however, a crap player will be crushed quickly. Terran is a good overall team. Protoss. No idea. I just can’t figure them out and I hate aliens in games. Except Elvis.

Overall: The game is pretty well-balanced as it is. Soon, the beta is getting some custom maps (i.e.: Fastest Map Ever) and all heck will break lose. I plan on posting some good screenshots eventually. Oh, and RDR this month. Have I not made it clear I need that game?

About DryvBy

www.doubledpads.com

Posted on May 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

