Blog Hero: When Will the Bands End?


I’ve been meaning to write this for a while, but is no one else completely sick of the ‘X Hero‘ and ‘Rock Band‘ games? Let me give you the list since these games first popped up:

Guitar Hero
Guitar Hero II
Guitar Hero III
Guitar Hero 4: World Tour
Guitar Hero 5
Guitar Hero 6 (announced)
Guitar Hero DS
Guitar Hero: 80’s
Guitar Hero: Aerosmith
Guitar Hero: Metallica
Guitar Hero: Van Halen
Band Hero
DJ Hero

Rock Band
Rock Band 2
Rock Band: The Beatles
Rock Band: Green Day
LEGO Rock Band

I really enjoyed the original series. Guitar Hero II is how I started out (I hated the PlayStation 2 for some reason…), and I was hooked. Rock Band I liked, but I’ve always felt the guitar controls were off. They didn’t feel like the picked up as well as Guitar Hero. But, really, look at that list. I’m sure there’s going to be more of these games too. We didn’t need a ‘Beatles’ game, but we got one. We don’t need a Guitar Hero 6, but we’re getting one. I’m probably going to get Guitar Hero 5 on PlayStation 3, since Rock Band is my Xbox 360’s gig. But I doubt I’ll pick up others. At least until they’re on sale. I love these, don’t get me wrong, but just put out a better song library and charge a dollar a pop for the songs. No one needs over 20 different ‘Hero’/’Band’ games. Heck, no one really needs that Natal/PS3 motion crap either, but we’re getting it. Did we ask for it? Nope. It’s cool, yes, but just like the Wii proved, motion controllers are pretty gimmicky. They’re more of a tech show-off than a good addition to gaming.

Some future games that would be sort of fun for these Harmonix guys.

dryvby

About DryvBy

www.doubledpads.com

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Rants and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

